Originally posted on The Funambulist:


INTERVIEW OF YONA FRIEDMAN ON NOVEMBER 14th 2007 (Paris)
(see original version in French)

Leopold Lambert & Martin Le Bourgeois : How can fiction be useful in order to think the city ?

Yona Friedman: I don’t know. As far as I am concerned, it’s mostly in reality that I am interested in. A lot of my colleagues were considering my work as fictional but I did it for real and if it is possible one time, it’s possible several times.
I am going to start to explain the social aspect of my work. I think that people don’t really know what they want and, moreover, they don’t know how to express what they want. From there, what is it that is necessary that the architect can correct? Something that is not definitive. You have the example with furnitures. Everybody finds perfectly normal that I can change the position…

View original 2.553 more words

About this entry